Recorder’s DD214 Service Needs Promoting

My Friday morning email to members of the St. Louis Democratic City Central Committee:

Thursday, I went to the Recorder of Deeds office and recorded my DD214 Military Discharge.

This is a free service provided by Recorders across the U.S.A. under state laws. They record your Military Discharge and it’s there when you or your spouse need a copy, which you get for free.

If you lose your original, it takes only a few minutes to get a copy from the Recorder’s office. A few minutes sure beats the National Personnel Records Center’s “within 10 days” response time.

But had I not been running for Recorder of Deeds and educating myself on Recorder services, I might not ever have known that Recorders assist Veterans in this way.

As a U.S. Army Veteran, it really bothers me that more Veterans are not aware of this service.

As Recorder, I will make it my job to educate veterans on free Military Discharge recording. I will talk with veterans groups and provide an information table at veterans-related events.

Each year around Veterans Day, I’d remind City employees that this service is available and ask them to spread the word to family and friends.

Perhaps there are some creative people who would donate their services to produce a public service announcement targeting Veterans. I know there are community leaders who are Veterans who would participate.

And there should be a brochure at Soldiers Memorial Military Museum about Military Discharge recording. I also hope to partner with Soldiers Memorial on history and genealogy events and exhibits.

I received excellent service when my DD214 was recorded. As Recorder, I will work hard to make sure more Veterans receive this same excellent service.

Edward McFowland 314-600-1261
Democratic Candidate for Recorder of Deeds

Leave a Reply

