McFowland Wants Ward Endorsements, Pledges to Retain Recorder Employees

My Friday evening email to members of the St. Louis Democratic City Central Committee:

I am writing to ask for your support in the August 5th Primary. I hope that those of you who had endorsed former Recorder Sharon Carpenter will now get behind my campaign and elect me and my Agenda.

If wards allow Sharon Carpenter to wins the Primary, it’s a black eye for the Democratic Party. There are more problems in that office’s management than nepotism.

The latest rumor is that Mayor Slay will make a political appointment for the office who will run as an Independent. Democratic Party officials do not support Independent candidates.

I had previously recommended that Mayor Slay appoint someone not political.

I want each of you to know and pass along to your patronage workers in the Recorder office that, other than the Chief Deputy, all Recorder employees will remain Recorder employees after I am elected. As Recorder, when I fire someone, it will be for cause, not politics.

I know some others are not going to be happy about that because right now they’re thinking patronage jobs will become available when I am elected. The facts are that these employees have valuable skills necessary to operation of the office and they have legal rights.

Edward McFowland 314-600-1261
Democratic Candidate for Recorder of Deeds

Leave a Reply

